NABP/AACP District III Annual Meeting

Proposed Education Programming

August 3-5, 2013

Hilton Downtown Nashville Nashville, Tennessee

Hosted by
East Tennessee State University, Belmont University, Lipscomb University,
Union University and South College

NABP/AACP District III Annual Meeting

August 3 – 5, 2013 Nashville, Tennessee

Schedule of Activities

Saturday, August 3, 2013

10:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. Registration and Check-In

1:00 p.m. – 1:15 p.m. Welcome and Annual Meeting Overview NO CE AWARDED

Terry Grinder, DPh

Interim Executive Director Tennessee Board of Pharmacy

Larry Calhoun, PharmD

Dean

Bill Gatton College of Pharmacy East Tennessee State University

1:15 p.m. – 2:15 p.m. Report of the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy

NO CE AWARDED Karen M. Ryle, MS, RPh

President

National Association of Boards of Pharmacy

2:15 p.m. – 3:15 p.m. Report of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy

NO CE AWARDED

Cecilia M. Plaza, PharmD, PhD

Senior Director of Academic Affairs

American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy

3:15 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. Refreshment Break

Session I

Facilitator: Larry Calhoun, PharmD

Dean, East Tennessee State University Bill Gatton College of Pharmacy

3:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. Understanding the Cultures of Prescription Drug Abuse and

Diversion: The Role of the Pharmacist

Mike O'Neil, PharmD

Professor of Pharmacy Practice

School of Pharmacy South College 400 Goody's Lane Knoxville, TN 37922 865.288.5858 (Voice)

moneil@southcollegetn.edu

4:30 p.m. – 5:30 p.m.

Prevention and Treatment of Prescription Drug Abuse and

Diversion: Integration Across the Curriculum and into the

Community

Sarah Melton, PharmD, BCPP, BCACP, CGP, FASCP

Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice

Bill Gatton College of Pharmacy East Tennessee State University

Building 7
Maple Avenue

Mountain Home, TN 37684

423.439.6571 meltonst@etsu.edu

Sunday, August 4, 2013

7:00 a.m. - 7:45 a.m.

Registration and Breakfast

7:45 a.m. – 8:00 a.m. NO CE AWARDED Memoriam Report Terry Grinder, DPh

Interim Executive Director Tennessee Board of Pharmacy

Session II

Facilitator: Phil Johnston, PharmD

Dean, Belmont University College of Pharmacy

8:00 a.m. – 9:30 a.m.

A Review of Federal and State Action on Pharmacy

Compounding Josh Bolin, BA

Government Affairs Director

National Association of Boards of Pharmacy

Government Affairs Director

National Association of Boards of Pharmacy

1600 Feehanville Drive Mount Prospect, IL 60056

847.391.4488 jbolin@nabp.net

9:30 a.m. - 9:45 a.m.

Refreshment Break

9:45 a.m. – 10:45 a.m.

How Institutions are Dealing with Medication Shortages – Is

Compounding an Option?

Mark Sullivan, Pharm.D., M.B.A., BCPS

Director of Pharmacy Operations Vanderbilt University Hospital

B-131

1211 Medical Center Drive Nashville, TN 37232 615.322.2374 (Voice)

mark.sullivan@vanderbilt.edu

10:45 a.m. – 11:45 a.m. NO CE AWARDED

NABP / AACP / State Association Business Meetings

11:45 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. NO CE AWARDED

NABP / AACP Joint Business Session

12:30 p.m. – 1:30 p.m. NO CE AWARDED

Luncheon – Keynote Speaker to be Determined

Monday, August 5, 2013

7:00 a.m. - 8:00 a.m.

Breakfast

Session III

Facilitator: Sheila Mitchell, PharmD

Dean, Union University School of Pharmacy

8:00 a.m. – 9:30 a.m. CAPE Educational Outcomes Revision: Looking Forward

> Cecilia M. Plaza, PharmD, PhD Senior Director of Academic Affairs

American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy

1727 King Street Alexandria, VA 22314 703.836.2330 (Voice) cplaza@aacp.org

9:30 a.m. – 9:45 a.m. Break

9:45 a.m. - 10:45 a.m. ACPE Summit Report and Accreditation Standards Revision

J. Gregory Boyer, PhD

Assistant Executive Director and

Director, Professional Degree Program Accreditation

Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education

135 S. LaSalle Street, Suite 4100 Chicago, Illinois 60603-4810

312.664.3575

gboyer@acpe-accredit.org

10:45 a.m. – 11:45 a.m. Implementing the Community Pharmacy Accreditation

Lynnae M Mahaney BSPharm, MBA, FASHP

Executive Director

Center for Pharmacy Practice Accreditation

7200 Stonewood Court Middleton WI 53562 608.444.7847 XXRSolutions@gmail.com

11:45 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. NO CE AWARDED Closing Remarks and Invitation to the 2014 District III Annual Meeting

Terry Grinder, DPh Interim Executive Director Tennessee Board of Pharmacy

Larry Calhoun, Pharm.D. Dean Bill Gatton College of Pharmacy East Tennessee State University

Invitation to the 2014 Annual Meeting